Inspiring IAG a licensed provider of the CEIAG quality award, The Quality in Careers Standard. We offer: * A school / college award * Primary school award * Training Provider award


The Inspiring IAG delivery model is that there are three stages to achieving the full award. An organisation wishing to take part must progress through each stage to achieve the full award. The three stage approach makes it accessible and flexible for organisations as they can complete each stage at a suitable pace, providing they complete within a year of the previous stage.  Each stage also provides support and advice to help participants to develop their CEIAG offer whilst taking full consideration of Statutory Guidance, Gatsby Benchmarks and best practice. It provides a framework to ensure good practice is recognised and developments are pulled together in an action plan.


IIAG and The Quality in Careers Standard are mapped against the Gatsby Benchmarks. The quality award provides external assessment and validation taking into account the Benchmarks and the CEIAG offer. Just like many awards The Quality in Careers Standard is an industry led quality award led by experienced mentors and assessors from within the careers industry.

The Compass tool (Careers & Enterprise)is useful and will serve as evidence towards the award. There is little duplication and The Quality in Careers Standard Award, Gatsby Benchmarks, Compass tool and the wider CEC work go hand in hand.

The Careers Strategy and Statutory Guidance support both, and in practical terms both will support each other.

Statutory Guidance (Jan 18)

We strongly recommend that all schools work towards the updated Quality in Careers Standard, incorporating Compass, to support the development of their careers programme.

The full award is The Quality in Careers Standard (formerly known as IIAG GOLD / Stage 3) and IIAG is licensed to deliver this national quality award. Once this is achieved it lasts for three years, providing Annual Reviews are in place and the Annual Checklist (mandatory) is completed, and the institution continues to meet the requirements. All current awards remain valid and new certificates will be issued to those holding the award as we move from a validated model to a Licensing model.

The award includes a self-assessment, external assessments and validation. The process helps organisations to identify areas for development as well as recognising good practice in their CEIAG provision.

External assessment and validation therefore assesses the quality of the CEIAG offer. Progress towards Gatsby Benchmarks will be considered (if a school is engaged with this) and promoted if it isn't.

Six units make up the framework of the award, each underpinned by the principles of equality, diversity and raising aspirations. Management and Leadership; Design and Delivery of CEIAG; Working with Partners including EMPLOYERS; Information and Communication; Outcomes for Young People; Involving Parents/Carers. 




IIAG STAGE 1 -working towards the national award, The Quality in Careers Standard

Commitment letter signed by Head/SLT
Code of Practice displayed within the organisation
A completed self assessment against the award criteria.
Jointly negotiated action plan
Validation from the Project Manager.

IIAG STAGE 2 -working towards the final stage to achieve the full award, The Quality in Careers Standard

 Stage Two needs to be completed within one year of completing Stage One. Stage Two requires the learning provider to have key documents in place.

Stage One completed
Key documentation in place
Evidence of progress with action plan
External desk top assessment and written feedback

The Quality in Careers Standard - final stage to achieve the full award.

This is the final part of the award process and can take up to nine months to complete, however as with all other stages, can be completed in less timeIt consists of:

Completion of all units of the award
Final review of jointly negotiated action plan
External assessor visit
Validation panel to quality assure the assessment process
The award is valid for 3 years and the organisation is required to maintain the standards through an annual review process

What are the benefits in taking part in the award?

  • Enables an organisation to gain recognition for their provision and good practice
  • Is a useful audit tool it will build upon the Compass tool (if you have used this) and takes into account the QUALITY of the offer
  • Assists quality assurance of CEIAG and supports the Gatsby Benchmarks
  • Provides a framework for meeting national guidance, Statutory guidance and legislation
  • Good preparation for inspection and a valuable achievement to highlight during inspections
  • Raises the profile of CEIAG at strategic and operational level
  • Especially good for new/recently qualified staff to give a clear picture of what CEIAG within the organisation and how their role may contribute to this
  • Supports continuous improvement
  • Aides effective partnership working
  • Better CEIAG improves the service offered to young people and can give the organisation better results and outcomes for young people

The Award made me really think about provision, identify any gaps and how and what we needed to do to address this.

Priestnall High School

The award has made us aware of all those involved in CEIAG- staff, parents and outside agencies. It helped update our policies. Well done on putting the Award together the school have definitely benefited from the experience.

Turton High School

A very thorough process, which has given us confidence that the school is delivering a robust CEIAG programme for our pupils. The report was extremely useful for the school and individuals concerned.

Parrs Wood High School


  • Inspiring IAG Licensed by QiCS
    We are delighted to announce that Inspiring IAG has been licensed to deliver the national Quality in Careers Standard Award. It was the panel’s view that it was an outstanding re-application, identifying many strengths. Please see the press notice from March 2017. More details about the national award can be found on our website or on the Quality in Careers Standard website:
  • 0161 621 9637